Communities & Groups
Publications & Resources
Career Center

President's message

 Dear IIE Computer and Information Systems (CIS) Division members, 

We have come almost to the end of academic year and the time for IIE Annual Conference & Expo is quickly approaching , May 31 – June 3, Montreal, Canada. Our board members sincerely hope to see you at the conference and in particular at the Town Hall meeting to hear your suggestions and feedback as well as to bring up CIS-related issues (3:30-4:45 p.m., Sunday, June 1, Room: 513f). During the town hall meeting, we will hold the second CIS-sponsored mobile app competition as well. I’d like to express my special thanks to the chairs of this competition, John Jung-Woon Yoo and Gerry Knapp. They have been working hard to promote this competition and you will see how well this competition has evolved at the town hall meeting!

John Jung-Woon Yoo from Bradley University will become the new president of CIS right after the town hall meeting, leading CIS activities in 2014-2015 along with current and new board members you have elected. Early this year, Gerald Knapp from Louisiana State University was elected as a new president-elect and three new directors got elected, Sung Won Han from NYU Langone Medical Center, Mehdi Khazaeli from University of Louisiana-Lafayette, and David Porter from Oregon State University. Thank you for your participation in the voting to select these outstanding leaders to serve our division.

I thank the ISERC CIS track best paper award committee consisting of Andy Banerjee, Hari Thiruvengada, and myself, who coordinated and conducted double-blind reviews to select the best paper and best student paper. In addition, I would like to thank David Porter from Oregon State University, who gave the third CIS-sponsored webinar in March 2014 on "A GTFS-based Visualization Approach for Statewide Transit Network Analysis." This webinar was a big success and we will continue the CIS webinar series in future years.

Warm wishes to you all and thanks to Hui Yang for putting together the CIS Spring Newsletter.


Seokcheon Lee

CIS Division President, 2013-2014

Print: Share: