IIE/Arena Student Simulation Competition

Registration for the Winter session opens Nov. 2 for the 22nd Annual IIE/Rockwell Undergraduate Student Simulation Competition. 

Teams of three IE undergraduate students solve a real-world situational case study using the Rockwell Automation simulation package, Arena. This case study is prepared by Rockwell. Student team members and their faculty advisor are not required to be members of IIE to enter the competition, but they will become IIE members, for one year, if they are one of the three teams selected to compete at the finals courtesy of Rockwell Automation. The finalists must be able to attend the IIE Annual IE Conference & Expo May 21 - 24, 2016, in Anaheim, Calif.

General Rules and Guidelines

  • Teams of three undergraduate students (plus an advisor) are given eight weeks to develop their solutions.
  • Three finalist teams are selected to present their solutions for final judging at the IIE Annual Conference & Expo.
  • Each finalist team will receive $1,250 US for travel expenses to the finals, plus complimentary conference registration, complimentary tickets for the Honors & Awards Banquet and a framed certificate.
  • Winners are announced at the honors and awards ceremony.

Additional cash prizes are also awarded to competitors based on their finishing position

  • First place: $5,000 US to the team plus $500 to the team's chapter
  • Second place: $2,500 US to the team plus $250 to the team's chapter
  • Third place: $1,500 US to the team plus $250 to the team's chapter

Participate in the winter session

  • To broaden contest participation, we will again, administer two eight-week sessions during this academic year.
  • Winter session is open from November 2015 - January 2016. The deadline for submitting your entry form is Jan. 8.
  • The deadline for submitting your solution is March 21.
  • All submissions from the fall and winter sessions will be judged in March 2016.
  • The top three finalists from the entire year’s submissions will be announced in early April 2016.

Competition entry

Entries for the winter session opens Nov. 2. The deadline to enter is Jan. 8. If you registered your team for the fall session, you will not be permitted to sign up again during the winter session.

Submit one online entry form per team with payment information for the $30 entry fee. This fee is nonrefundable. If paying by check, send completed entry form and payment to:

Attn: Bonnie Cameron
3577 Parkway Lane
Suite 200
Norcross, GA 30092

The Student Simulation Competition is sponsored by Rockwell Automation and Arena Simulation Software.

Questions? Contact Bonnie Cameron at (770) 449-0461, ext. 105.

2015 Winners

1st Place: ETS
Ecole de Technologie Superieure 
Team members: Steeven Valois, Simon Lessard and Leonie Quinn 
Faculty advisor: Marc Paquet

2nd Place: Limitless
Kyonggi University
Team members: Ingyu Lee, Bugeon Kim and Sangmin Lee
Faculty advisor: Myeonsig Cho

3rd Place: Miracle of Sheep
Seoul National University of Science and Technology
Team members: Seunggoo Kang, Sunggyun Hong and Sejong Yoo
Faculty advisor: Seong Yong Jang

2014 Winners

1st Place: Kudos
Kyonggi University
Team Members: Taesung Kim, Jungsu Han and Jiun Ryu
Faculty Advisor: Myeonsig Cho

2nd Place: ICM Simulators
Abdelmalek Essaadi University, National School of Applied Sciences of Tetouan
Team members: Oumayma Iallalen, Achraf Chafalou and Anas Aymen Mrabou
Faculty advisor: Mohamed Reghioui

3rd Place: ETS
Ecole de Technologie Superieure
Team members: Jean-Luc Bedard, Francois d’Amours and Manuel Pinto
Faculty advisor: Jean-Francois Boulet 

2013 Winners

1st Place: TIIEAM
Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey
Team members: Hector Villarreal Garza, Yan Lin Clemintina Chen Lopez and Mariana Elizabeth Trevino Ferrer
Faculty advisor: Heriberto Garcia Reyes 

2nd Place: Team ETS
Ecole de Technologie Superieure
Team members: Mickael Huot, Benoit Boutin and Benoit Robichaud
Faculty advisor: Alexandre Ouellet 

3rd Place: Trojan's Arena
University of Southern California
Team members: Cynthia Larocque and Michael Hintlian
Faculty advisor: Kurt Palmer

Past Winners 

© 2016 Institute of Industrial Engineers. All rights reserved.